I Just Don’t Understand

This blog is part vent, part rambling, part je ne sais quoi. Every once in a while I get the urge to look back and find friends I’ve lost touch with over the years. People who were raised with the same beliefs and values. Unfortunately, I am constantly surprised at what I find when I finally do catch up with these old friends and acquaintances. Many of them have made life decisions so far away from the way we were raised that I have to question, did I ever really know them? What happened that they now think this is ok? Why does everyone look the other way and act like this is normal? Am I the one stuck in time, antiquated and Nancy Nazarene (I’m Baptist by the way, but Betty Baptist just doesn’t sound right)? How do I tell them I still love them, miss them, pray for them, but I’m sorry I won’t let my children be around you? 

I’m not perfect (and I’m pretty sure God just choked when I put myself and “perfect” in the same sentence), I have fallen short so many times and am a sinner just like everyone else. However, I am consistently drawn to Romans 12:2 “And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.” Friends, we have no choice to be in the world, but we can consciously choose each and every day to not be of the world.

If you are one of these people, know that I do love you, I am interested in your life, I do want the best for you… but don’t expect to babysit for me. Harsh? Yes, I’m sure.

One thought on “I Just Don’t Understand

  1. Jennifer says:

    If it makes you feel better, I have much the same struggle with myself and those that were raised as I was. It’s easy for them to label me as “conservative”, “fundamental”, “old-fashioned” and whatever other adjective comes to mind. However, I haven’t been able to get a clear answer to, “Show me where the Bible has changed?” I’m also a Mama Bear….over-protective, maybe…..but they’ll be fighting this battle themselves soon enough.

Leave a Reply

